My Own R Function and Script for Simple Linear Regression – An Illustration with Exponential Decay of DDT in Trout

The Chemical Statistician

Here is the function that I wrote for doing simple linear regression, as alluded to in my blog post about simple linear regression on log-transformed data on the decay of DDT concentration in trout in Lake Michigan.  My goal was to replicate the 4 columns of the output from applying summary() to the output of lm().

To use this file and this script,

1) I saved this file as “simple linear regression.r”.

2) In the same folder, I saved a script called “DDT trout regression.r” that used this function to implement simple linear regression on the log-transformed DDT data.

3) I used setwd() to change the working directory to the folder containing the function and the script.

4) I made sure “DDT trout regression.r” used the source() function to call my user-defined function for simple linear regression.

5) I ran “DDT trout regression.r”.

View original post 433 more words

Leave a Reply

